Log in

North American
Kant Society

North American
Kant Society

  • Home
  • Announcements


<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 
  • 31 Jan 2020 10:26 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Members, please go here to register:


    We look forward to seeing everyone there!

  • 10 Dec 2019 7:20 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)
    Rosalind Chaplin has been awarded the 2019 Markus Herz prize for her paper, "Indeterminacy and Potential Infinity in Kant's Second Antinomy” .
  • 23 Aug 2019 2:57 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    We congratulate Samuel Kahn, the winner of the 2019 Sellars Prize.

  • 23 Aug 2019 2:55 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Melissa Merritt has been awarded the 2019 NAKS book prize. Many congratulations.

  • 19 Dec 2018 9:02 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    A blind-review committee has awarded the 2018 Markus Herz Essay prize to Olga Lenczewska for her essay, “From Rationality to Morality: The Collective Development of Practical Reason in Kant’s Anthropological Writings.” The Markus Herz prize is awarded to an exemplary paper submitted by a graduate student for presentation at one of the regional study groups.

  • 19 Dec 2018 8:58 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    We are pleased to announce that the 2018 NAKS Sellars prize has been awarded to Robert Clewis, for his paper, “Beauty and Utility in Kant’s Aesthetics: The Origins of Adherent Beauty.” The award-winning paper appeared in the Journal of the History of Philosophy's April 2018 issue. We congratulate Professor Clewis on an excellent, deeply researched paper that also draws attention to the connections between Kant’s aesthetics and contemporary thinking about beauty.

  • 08 Sep 2018 9:10 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Konstantin Pollok is the winner of the 2018 NAKS book prize for his Kant's Theory of Normativity: Exploring the Space of Reason (CUP, 2017). An honorable mention goes to Luigi Caranti for his Kant’s Political Legacy: Human Rights, Peace, Progress (University of Wales Press, 2017). Many congratulations!

  • 03 Feb 2018 1:00 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Jessica Tizzard has been awarded the 2017 Markus Herz prize for her paper, “Practical Reason and the Call to Faith,” presented at the NAKS Midwest study group this October.

  • 16 Dec 2016 4:55 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    NAKS is very pleased to announce that Aaron Wells (Notre Dame) is the winner of the 2016 Markus Herz Prize. Wells won the prize for his paper “Mechanical Inexplicability and Extensive Magnitudes in Kant’s Critique of Judgment.”

    Aaron Wells is completing a PhD in philosophy at the University of Notre Dame. His dissertation is about explanation in Kant’s theoretical philosophy, and the explanatory role of representations of reason. His other research interests include early modern philosophy, German Idealism, and the philosophy of science. 

    Abstract for Mechanical Inexplicability and Extensive Magnitudes in Kant’s Critique of Judgment:”

    Kant's conception of mechanistic inexplicability is commonly interpreted in terms of parts and wholes, yet the justification for Kant’s claims remains elusive. In this paper, I argue that the principle of the axioms of intuition plays a crucial role in justifying Kantian mechanistic inexplicabiluty; this puts part-whole interpretations on a firmer footing. I then show how such interpretations can help explain Kant’s difficult claims that the subordination of mechanism to teleology, and appeals to the supersensible as a unifying ground of nature, help resolve the antinomy of teleological judgment. More broadly, this interpretation clarifies Kant’s conception of the explanatory relationship between metaphysics, physics, and the life sciences.

  • 13 Nov 2016 12:29 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The NAKS Book Prize for Senior Scholars is the capstone of our system of Prizes. It is awarded to outstanding books in any aspect of Kant’s philosophy. Prior winners included:

    • 2016, Lucy Allais, Manifest Reality: Kant’s Idealism and his Realism (Oxford University Press, 2015)
    • 2015, Julian Wuerth, Kant on Mind, Action and Ethics (Oxford University Press, 2014)
    • 2014, Pauline Kleingeld, Kant and Cosmopolitanism: The Philosophical Ideal of World Citizenship (Cambridge University Press, 2013).

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 

 2009-2015 North American Kant Society. All Rights Reserved.
The "North American Kant Society" is a 501(3)(c) non-profit organization. 2809 Kenyon Circle, Boulder, CO 80305.