Wilfrid Sellars NAKS Essay Prize

The North American Kant Society is pleased to announce the establishment of the annual Wilfrid Sellars Essay Prize, which began in 2010. Open to recent PhDs and junior (non-tenured) faculty who are 40 years of age or younger and members of NAKS in good standing, this prize will be awarded annually for the best essay on any topic that demonstrates the continued relevance of Kant’s philosophy. Essays must be previously unpublished (work under consideration or forthcoming will be considered), and cannot exceed 8,000 words in length (including notes)

The Sellars Essay Prize is the natural continuation of the existing Marcus Herz Prize, which is awarded to the best graduate student submission to the NAKS study groups. Our intention is to help promote original Kantian or Kant-inspired philosophical work of scholars in the early stages of their careers. Submissions will be blind-reviewed and judged by members of a review committee drawn from the NAKS Executive and Advisory Boards.

The award winner will be announced on June 15 and will receive a prize of $500.
The deadline for submitting is January 15, 2015.
Submission Instructions
Please send entries electronically to:
Helga Varden ( and Pablo Muchnik (
Submission Requirements
The submission must be accompanied by a cover letter containing a three-part declaration stating that:
  1. the author is a member of NAKS in good standing.
  2. the essay has not been published by January 15, 2014.
  3. the author already has a PhD in hand, is 40 years of age or younger, and an untenured scholar, and
The Award Committee reserves the right not to award a prize, if in its judgment none is warranted.

© 2009 North American Kant Society. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software